
The New Laws of Bridge 2017  
Summary of Major Changes 

(Fearghal O’Boyle with acknowledgements to Murray Wiggins NZ) 

 
To keep this article short, I am just highlighted the major changes to the 2017 laws.  The new 

laws come into effect in Ireland on the 1st September 2017.  Please refer to the Law Book for 
full details.  The laws are available for purchase from the CBAI shop and are also available 
online at http://www.worldbridge.org/rules-regulations/2017-laws-of-duplicate-bridge/ 

 

Law 7 – Control of Board and Cards 
This law has always been here.  It has been amended subtly and now requires the board to 
remain in the centre of the table correctly orientated.  Players are encouraged to follow this 
law so as to reduce the risk of cards being returned to incorrect pockets but we also ask for 
commonsense too - if there is no room for the board - then there is no room for the board! 

Law 9 – Procedure Following an Irregularity 
Dummy may now attempt to prevent an irregularity by any player, but is still unable to draw 
attention to an irregularity once it has occurred until play has concluded, except for 
correction of a mistaken explanation by Declarer.  However Dummy is not allowed to enquire 
about a revoke by a Defender. 

Law 12 – Director’s Discretionary Powers 
TDs will find that this law has been re-written in a logical way.  The intent in the Laws is, as 
often as possible, to award assigned adjusted scores and not artificial ones i.e. to attempt to 
obtain a bridge result at the table where at all possible. 

Law 15 – Wrong Board or Hand 
If players commence an auction on a board that they are not supposed to play at that turn, 
and that none of them have played, then the auction proceeds and they are awarded the 
result they achieve on the board. 

Law 20 – Review and Explanation of Calls 
If a player gives an incomplete or incorrect explanation of their partner’s bid, they must call 
the Director prior to the opening lead to correct their explanation, although they can call the 
TD sooner.  Players are not permitted to enquire about a call if the sole purpose is to elicit an 
incorrect response from the opponents. 

 
  

http://www.worldbridge.org/rules-regulations/2017-laws-of-duplicate-bridge/


 

Law 23 – Comparable Call 

This is the biggest change in the new Laws.  If a player makes an Insufficient Bid, Pass out of 
Rotation, Bid out of Rotation or Double or Redouble out of Rotation and that call isn’t 
accepted by the next player in turn, then if they can replace that call with a Comparable Call 
there is no further rectification.  It is important that TDs develop a clear understanding of 
what constitutes a Comparable Call.  Many players will struggle with interpretations of these 
definitions and Directors need to be prepared to be able to correctly advise them. 

A call that replaces a withdrawn call is a comparable call, if it: 
1. has the same or similar meaning as that attributed to the withdrawn call, or 

2. defines a subset of the possible meanings attributable to the withdrawn call, or 

3. has the same purpose as that attributable to the withdrawn call 
 
Example of a call with a same or similar meaning as that attributed to the withdrawn call. 
 

W N  E S 

1 
W N E S 

 

1 P 2NT1
 

14+ card support, 12+ HCP 
 

1 by East was bid at West’s turn to open and wasn’t accepted by South. 

The TD was called and West opened 1 and after a pass by North, East bid 2NT - showing a 
hand with at least 4 Hearts and at least 12 points.  This 2NT bid is an example of a similar call 
as the call out of rotation. 

 

Example of a call that is a subset of the possible meanings of the withdrawn call. 
 

W N E S 
P 

W N E S 

1 P 2 
 

East passed at West’s turn to open and this was not accepted by South.  The TD was called 

and West opened 1 and after a pass by North, East bid 2.  The 2 bid is a subset of all the 
hands make up the set of ‘pass’ hands.  It is less than an opening strength and promises 

Spade support.   1NT, 3 and even 4 may also be acceptable comparable bids depending on 
the partnership methods. 
  



 

 
Example of a call that has the same purpose as that attributable to the withdrawn call. 
 

N 

4 

W 
P 

E  

4 

S 

N 

4 

W 
P 

E 
4NT 

3 

S 

 

East bid an insufficient ‘Gerber’ 4 asking for Aces.  The TD was called.  As long as 4NT over 

4 has the same purpose - asking for Aces - then it is a comparable call. 

 
 

Law 26 - Call Withdrawn, Lead Restriction 
Lead penalties are referred to in the Insufficient Bid, Pass out of Rotation, Bid out of Rotation 
and Double or Redouble out of Rotation Laws.  If the withdrawn call is replaced by a 
comparable call there are no lead restrictions.  If the withdrawn call is replaced by any other 
call then there may be lead restriction.  On offender’s partner’s first turn to lead, declarer can 
forbid the lead of any one suit not bid by the offender in the legal auction. 

 

Law 30, 31 & 32 - Pass out of Rotation, Bid out of Rotation, Double or Redouble out of 
Rotation 
The Law considers the situation were the infraction occurs at RHO’s turn to call and when the 
infraction occurs at LHO’s or partner’s turn to call.  The call out of rotation can always be 
accepted by LHO (unless it is an inadmissible double or redouble). 
 

RHOs turn to call 
If the infraction occurs at RHO’s turn to call and RHO passes, then the pass, bid, double or 
redouble must be repeated, unless the double or redouble is inadmissible. 
 

A player who passes at RHO’s turn to call must pass for one round regardless of what action 
RHO takes.  Law 72C (awareness of potential damage) needs to be considered. 
 

When a player bids, doubles or redoubles and it is not accepted, then if the RHO bids, doubles 
or redoubles, the player must make a legal call. 
 

If the withdrawn call can be replaced by a comparable call, then there is no further 
rectification, but an assigned adjusted score can be awarded if the non-offenders are 
damaged.   
 
If the withdrawn call is replaced by any other call then the offender’s partner must pass when 
next it is their turn to call.  There may be unauthorized information (UI), lead penalty and 
awareness of potential damage considerations. 

 
  



LHO or Partner’s turn to call 
If a pass, bid, double or redouble is made at LHO or Partner’s turn to call, and if it is not 
accepted, then the partner can make any legal call at their turn to call (they must ignore any 
unauthorized information (UI) they may have received). 
 

The offender, at their turn to call, can make any legal call.  If the offender’s call is a 
comparable call then the auction continues, there is no rectification, but an assigned adjusted 
score can be awarded if the non-offenders are damaged. 
 

If the withdrawn call is replaced by any other call then the offender’s partner must pass when 
next it is their turn to call.  There may be unauthorized information (UI), lead penalty and 
awareness of potential damage considerations. 
 

 

Law 50 – Disposition of a Penalty Card 
Information pertaining to a penalty card is authorised to offender’s partner while the penalty 
card remains on the table but becomes unauthorised once it is replaced in offender’s hand.  
Once the card has been played, the reason it occurred remains unauthorised to Offender’s 
Partner.  Information about the Penalty Card is authorised to Declarer at all times.  If the 
Director judges that the declaring side is damaged by the information gained from the penalty 
card then he shall award an assigned adjusted score 

 

Law 66 – Inspection of Tricks 
Players can now look at, but not expose, the card they played to their last trick, until either 
player from their side has played to the next trick. 

 

Law 68 - Claim or Concession of Tricks 
A hand can now be played out following a claim but only if a member of the non-claiming or 
non-conceding side requests the hand to be played out and all four players concur (if dummy 
is not at the table then they are deemed to have concurred).  The claim or concession is void 
and lead penalties and unauthorized information restrictions do not apply.  The result 
achieved at the table shall stand. 
 

If there is an objection by any player (including dummy), then the Director must be called and 
will apply Law 70 to adjudicate equitably for both sides.  The hand cannot be played out once 
the Director has been summoned. 

 

Law 75 – Mistaken Explanation or Mistaken Call 
It is now an infraction to state there is a partnership agreement when there isn’t one, for 
example, by stating an opinion as if it were an agreement, or by saying “I’m taking that as...”. 

 


